COU logo

About COU

The Council of Ontario Universities promotes university education and research and their role in preparing both undergraduate and graduate students for success in life and careers. A membership organization consisting of Ontario’s 20 publicly assisted universities and one associate member, the Royal Military College of Canada, COU works with members to find consensus on a wide range of university issues and advances them with government and other stakeholders.

Ontario universities are committed to supporting Aboriginal (First Nation, Métis, and Inuit) learners by providing dedicated spaces, as well as academic and culturally relevant support services and leadership opportunities.

All of our campuses have Aboriginal Student Centres that provide welcoming spaces for our on-campus Aboriginal community and that serve as a central hub for all Aboriginal learner-related supports and activities.

Ontario universities also reach out to local Aboriginal communities in order to build mutual and respectful relationships and to enrich their university communities by bringing local Aboriginal knowledge and culture on to campus.

The COU Reference Group on Aboriginal Education, which is composed of Aboriginal members from each Ontario university, promotes and facilitates opportunities for Ontario universities to engage one another in creating meaningful change to meet the needs of Aboriginal learners and communities.

You can reach us by email at